Background Information

Background Information: Founding Members of the SSMEnetUK

Network Leaders

  • Professor Linda Macaulay, Manchester Business School, University of Manchester
  • Dr Liping Zhao, Senior Lecturer in the School of Computer Science, University of Manchester

Academic Founding Members

The founding members of SSMEnetUK are leading researchers from a range of disciplines, including computing, engineering, business, management, social science, and design.

  • Professor Mari Sako,  P&O Professor of Management Studies (International Business) in Said Business School, University of Oxford
  • Dr. Aad van Moorsel, Reader in Department of Computing Science, University of Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Dr. Yasmin Merali, Co-Director, Complexity Doctoral Training Centre, Warwick University, and Associate Professor, Warwick Business School.
  • Professor Keith Bennett, Professor of Computer Engineering in School of Engineering, Durham University
  • Professor Ian Miles, Professor of Technological Innovation & Social Change, Manchester Institute of Innovation Research, Manchester Business School, University of Manchester
  • Dr. Nicolas Gold is a Senior Lecturer in Department of Computer Science, King’s College London
  • Dr. Barbara Jones, Senior Research Fellow, Manchester Institute of Innovation Research, Manchester Business School , University of Manchester
  • Professor Chris Fowler,Director of Chimera, the Institute of Socio-technical Innovation and Research at the University of Essex
  • Dr Bill Hollins is Service Design Consultant for UK Design Council
  • Dr Pedro Sampaio, Senior Lecturer, Information Systems, Manchester Business School, University of Manchester

Business Founding Members

Business leaders in the services agenda from IBM, HP, BT together with two SMEs service practitioners UXoline and Abacus Billing are also founding members of SSMEnetUK.

  •  Will Peachey, IBM, Business Unit Leader of Application Management Services for UK, Ireland & South Africa
  • Dr Richard Taylor is Principal Scientist at Hewlett Packard Laboratories’ Open Analytics research group
  • Dr Michael Lyons of BT is Chief Researcher, Strategic Analysis and Business Research
  • Paul Ireland is Chief Architect at the Utilities Exchange Ltd
  • Karl Wills is Chief Executive Officer of Omni Consulting t/a Abacus Billing